【review/rate】no rome / rip indo hisashi

released 2018, dirty hit.

Produced in tandem with The 1975’s “A Brief Inquiry into Online Relationships”, No Rome’s debut EP is short but sweet, four tracks that shine in multiple facets and provide him a solid start on his journey to pop stardom.

The first of the quartet, “Do it Again” is a pretty depressing opener if you ask me, its lyrics describing a lapse in judgment and benefit of the doubt. We’ve all had shady girlfriends so I’m sure it’s relatable as well. I really love the second verse in particular.

“Seventeen” is a dreamy, downtempo ode to youth and the lowest energy of the tracks on RIP Indo Hisashi, but there’s enough going on in the production to keep me interested. Rome’s vocal delivery also manages to hit the emotional spot. He croons along and sells the melodies well. I came back to this song a lot, and first time listeners will as well. The outro is pure bliss.

The highlight of the EP is easily the 1975 feature, “Narcissist”. It’s pure pop, with the best hook on the record and a head nodding arrangement. The 1975’s Matty Healy also sounds great here, so shout out there.

The last of RIP Indo Hisashi’s offerings, “Saint Laurent” keeps the energy up and is the most upbeat of the four songs presented. It’s got a bit of a tropi-house vibe, and wouldn’t sound out of place on a Drake record. The guitars in the mix are a big selling point as they’re pristinely played, crisp sounding and emotive. The track also has a outro similar to “Seventeen” that really adds depth and a bit of dimension to the song in the context of the EP as a closing track.

Overall, while No Rome’s initial effort is a little too short for me to consider an “extended play”, it’s not short of quality and I look forward to hearing more of No Rome’s pop capabilities. There’s not a single dud on this release.

  1. Do it again ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
  2. Seventeen ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
  3. Narcissist (feat.the 1975) ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
  4. Saint Laurent ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
  • Must-Listen : Narcissist, Do it Again
  • Skip : None
  • “RIP Indo Hisashi” is available on major streaming outlets. Pick up a 12″ copy here.
  • No Rome will be touring with The 1975 in the UK later this year.
  • 💫💫💫
  • Leave a Reply

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

    WordPress.com Logo

    You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

    Google photo

    You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

    Connecting to %s

    Powered by WordPress.com.

    Up ↑

    %d bloggers like this: